The picture in the header

This was taken in Glen Shirra in Inverness-shire, looking north-east over Loch Crunachdan and upper Strathspey; Ordnance Survey map reference 540918.

I took this photo on my cycle ride from Perth to Inverness in June 2009. That day was one of the best of my trip. I’d taken the train from Rannoch Station to Corrour Halt, then cycled through Strathossian and along Loch Laggan. I took the short and scenic, but very rough, route over the top from Aberarder Lodge and down into Strathspey.

I was on a high when I took this picture. After slogging up the steep track from Loch Laggan I was now bumping downhill into Strathspey in glorious warm sunshine through fantastic scenery. Scotland was looking at its very best that day and it was great to be alive.

Leave a Reply

